Enter your keyword


Our History

North Karnataka during pre-independence period was educationally and economically a backward region. Yet, there was a great thirst for education among the people. This educationally backward region experienced a scientific renaissance of the mind and the spirit with the inception of the Science college in Belagavi by Karnataka Lingayat Education Society, in 1935. Initially, the Science course was introduced in the, then, already existing Lingaraj Arts College. It was progressing by leaps and bounds; and subsequently,in 1941, it was named as Raja LakhamaGouda Science Institute, after the name of the munificent Sardar Raja LakhamaGouda Basavaprabhu Sirdesai of Wantamuri, who had generously donated to the institute.

The degree course in Science was inaugurated in 1944, by Sir. C. V. Raman, the Nobel Laureate. It had the honor of imparting instructions in Physics, Mathematics and Chemistry at Post-Graduate level from 1948 to 1957.

Raja LakhamaGouda Science Institute has a rich academic history of seventy nine years spanning over three generations of students. Since its establishment in 1935, the Institute has been supported by the committed faculty members undertaking curricular, co-curricular and extra-curricular activities to fulfill its mission. The Institute offers students the opportunity not only to expand their own creative scope, but also to add to the knowledge base of their subjects by taking up research projects. Hence, conducive environment for teaching-learning is preserved. Thus, it brings a sense of accomplishment to the faculty members and stakeholders alike. The Institute has, over the years, expanded and grown by leaps and bounds and its alumni have excelled themselves all over the world.

1935 Science course was introduced in Lingaraj College
1941 Science Wing named as Raja LakhamaGouda Science Institute
1944 Degree section inaugurated by in science Sir. C. V. Raman, the Nobel Laureate
1948 PG classes in Mathematics, Chemistry and Physics introduced till 1957
1951 Foundation Stone of Physics department laid by Shri Jayachamarajendra Wodeyar
1958 Bifurcated from Lingaraj College as a full-fledged science institute
1988 Electronics subject introduced
1998 Electronics equipment maintenance subject introduced
1999 BCA Course started
2002 PU Section started
2003 Cinder Track laid on the playfield
2004 Biotechnology subject introduced
2004 New Gymkhana and Badminton halls constructed
2008 Certificate Course in Computer Application started
2009 Certificate Course in Medical Lab. Technician started
2010 PG Classes in Physics and Mathematics started
2012 Became Autonomous College
2012 MCA course started