Enter your keyword

Physics (UG)



Physics department was established in the year 1935 as a part of Lingaraj College with the vision of imparting quality education both in theoretical as well as experimental physics, to build foundation for excellence and development of the institution. In 1944, the degree course in science was inaugurated by the Nobel Laureate Sir C.V.Raman. In the year 1951, foundation stone of Physics Department was laid by Shri Jayachamarajendra Wadeyar. In 1958, the science wing was bifurcated from Lingaraj College as a fully fledged science institute called Raja Lakhamagouda Science Institute. Dr. G.S.Paramashivayya and Prof. G.D.Somannavar from physics department worked as Principal of the college and devoted themselves for the glory of the institute.

Over the years, the department is established as one of the premier centre of higher education in north Karnataka with the mission to make the department more vibrant for the vital contribution towards high level competence and to develop scientific temper among young minds for the betterment of the society through the knowledge of physics.

The department has well-equipped and spacious laboratories with well-qualified and enthusiastic teaching faculty. In addition to active classroom teachings, the faculty members are actively involved in research. The department has undertaken five minor research projects funded by UGC. Good number of research papers are published in National and International journals. The department has collaboration with University, Technical Institute and Science Centre.

In order to motivate the students, the department organises skill oriented trainings, workshops, exhibitions, industrial visits, quiz, national seminars, conferences periodically. For the overall development of the students department also conducts value added programmes and certificate courses.

The department has consistently produced a number of successful students who have qualified in various entrance/competitive exams and many of them working in various public and private sectors in India and abroad.


  • B.Sc Physics & Chemistry.
  • B.Sc Physics & Mathematics.
  • B.Sc Physics & Computer Science.
  • B.Sc Physics & Statistics.


  • BSc I & II sem Physics Syllabi-NEP 2020 Final Syllabus (1)
  • BSc III & IV sem DSC Physics-NEP Final draft 2022-23

  • Board of Studies 2022-23

    Shri. A.S. Pujar HoD, Physics Raja Lakhamagouda Science Institute (Autonomous), Belagavi BoS Chairman
    Prof. B. G. Hegde Dept. of PG Physics, Rani Channamma University, Belagavi V C Nominee (Subject Expert)
    Dr. S. B. Gudennavar Associate Professor Dept. of Physics & Electronics Associate Director, Centre for Research (Deemed to be University), Christ University, Bengaluru A C Nominee (Subject Expert)
    Shri. S.T. Shambatanavar Managing Director Advanced Electronic  System, Bengaluru Industrialist
    Dr. KetakiPatankar Associate Professor Rajaram college, Kolhapur Special Invitee
    Dr. S. N. Patil Associate Professor, B. K. College, Belagavi Member
    All the Teaching Staff Department of Physics Raja Lakhamagouda Science Institute (Autonomous), Belagavi Members


    WordPress Tables Plugin


    Fabrication of Semiconductor devices and simulation studies, Reliability Studies in Semiconductors, Ion beam induced modifications, Defects in semiconductors, Condensed Matter Physics, High Tc Superconductors, Magnetic and Electrical Properties of Ferrite’s and Alloys, Mossbaur Spectroscopy, Gaint magnetic resistance, Nano materials, Coulomb excitation, Nuclear reaction and Nuclear Spectroscopy.




    Activities Organised from 2017-20

    Invited Talks from 2017-20

    Study Tour, Field Visit and Industry Visit

    Student Projects


    In-House Seminars